Leanne Miller



image001Leanne Miller is a Yorta Yorta woman of the Dhulanyagen Ulupna Clan. Leanne’s family has a strong and long-standing commitment to Aboriginal affairs. Her grandmother, Geraldine Briggs and her mother Frances Mathyssen are both highly respected Aboriginal leaders. As Leanne comments:

“I have been privileged to be a part of a strong matriarchal clan whose values and sense of social responsibility was instilled from an early age”

Leanne has made significant contributions over many years to Aboriginal communities in the areas of economic development, employment, community development, tourism and the promotion of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander women in business. Leanne is also passionate about the elimination of violence against women and children and was instrumental in the development of the Iramoo Zone – Mentors in Violence Prevention (MVP) program.

Leanne brings to her current roles, including as the Outback Academy Chairperson, a career spanning over thirty-years from earlier front-line roles in the public sector, through to Board Advisory Committee responsibilities in the areas of economic development, employment, tourism, and the prevention of family violence.

Leanne’s leadership and representative roles have also included the preparation of public submissions such as Constitutional Recognition of Indigenous Australians (2011); Indigenous Economic Development Strategy (2010); Parliamentary Inquiry into Developing Indigenous Small Business (2008); and the National Plan to Reduce Violence Against Women and Children (2008). Leanne’s contributions to her community have been noted through various awards and invitations to represent Australian Indigenous women such as:

  • United Nations Convention on the Status of Women – Australian Government NGO Delegate, (January 2010)
  • United Nations Fellowship (attended Geneva 2006)
  • United Nations Convention on the Elimination of Discrimination Against Women NGO Delegate (Australia 2006)
  • United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Peoples Issues (2004)
  • Victorian Women’s Honour Roll – Minister of Women’s Affairs (2004)


Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options